Neige de Jakuchu – 若冲の雪

DUMONT Aurélien
String Quartet
ISMN 979-0-56025-339-8
20'
partition
Artchipel

For rent: Contact us

Neige de Jakuchu is my first real string quartet.
Jakuchu was a Japanese painter born in 1716 and died in 1800. The painter’s extreme aesthetic singularity and technical virtuosity came as a real shock when I discovered his work, on the occasion of a magnificent exhibition at the Tokyo Metropolitan Art Museum in Ueno in May 2016.
Certain strokes and gestures, certain colors seem to contain everything that would later be developed in Japanese painting or pictorial expression, from Hokusai to manga. A quasi-expressionist motivic and chromatic abundance is often confronted by an almost diaphanous minimalism of ink: for me, the link between the two is embodied in the different textures that snow displays in his compositions. Shaded, projected, static, moving, dense, light, snow is also a vector of planes; I try to “musicalize” it as the quartet’s main material, while proposing a work on space between dazzling light and frozen fragility.
The quartet’s structure draws on the work of writer Antoine Volodine, who has already inspired earlier works, in particular my Nara cycle.
In his book Le post-exotisme en dix leçons (lesson eleven), Volodine explores literary forms he himself invented, such as shaggå, entrevoûtes, murmurat and narrats. Reappropriated, deconstructed, exploded and placed in tension with the “snowy mantle” of the material, they form the backbone of the quartet.
This work is dedicated to my friends in the Diotima Quartet.
Aurélien Dumont

Description

 

Additional information

Dimensions24 × 32 cm
Support

PDF, Papier

Neige de Jakuchu- 若冲の雪- (matériel)

En location : Nous contacter

ISMN 979-0-56025-339-8
, ,
DUMONT Aurélien

Product Description

Neige de Jakuchu – 若冲の雪- , constitue mon premier véritable quatuor à cordes.

Jakuchu est un peintre japonais né en 1716 et mort en 1800. L’extrême singularité esthétique et la virtuosité technique du peintre ont été un vrai choc lorsque je découvre son œuvre, à l’occasion d’une magnifique exposition au Tokyo Metropolitan Art Museum à Ueno en mai 2016.

Certains traits et gestes, certaines couleurs semblent contenir tout ce qui sera développé par la suite dans la peinture ou l’expression picturale japonaise, d’Hokusai au manga. À un foisonnement motivique et chromatique quasi-expressionniste se confronte souvent un minimalisme de l’encre, presque diaphane : le lien entre les deux s’incarne pour moi au sein des différentes textures que la neige arbore dans ses compositions. Ombrée, projetée, statique, mouvante, dense, légère, la neige y est également vectrice de plans ; je tente de la « musicaliser » comme matériau principal du quatuor, tout en proposant un travail sur l’espace entre fulgurances et fragilités gelées.

La structure du quatuor, au niveau macro-formel, fait appel au travail de l’écrivain Antoine Volodine, qui a déjà inspiré des œuvres plus anciennes, en particulier mon cycle Nara.

Dans son ouvrage Le post-exotisme en dix leçons, leçon onze, ce dernier explore des formes littéraires qu’il a lui-même inventées comme par exemple la shaggå, les entrevoûtes, le murmurat, ou encore les narrats. Réappropriées, déconstruites, éclatées et mises en tension avec le « manteau neigeux » du matériau, elles forment l’ossature du quatuor.

 

Cette œuvre est dédiée à mes amis du quatuor Diotima.

 

Commande : du Théâtre de Cornouaille – Scène Nationale de Quimper.

Création : le 16 mai 2017 au Théâtre Max Jacob de Quimper par le Quatuor Diotima.

Durée de l’œuvre : 20 minutes.

Additional Information

Support

PDF, Papier