MENUT Benoît
Duos piano, alto saxophone
ISMN 979-0-56025-211-7


The legend of the town of Ys has often inspired composers, including Edouard Lalo’s Le Roi d’Ys and Claude Debussy’s La Cathédrale engloutie. In this work, commissioned by saxophonist Ronan Baudry, I wanted to transcribe three “tableaux” from this legend.
The first movement, Quoi de nouveau dans la ville d’Ys? was inspired by a popular theme of the same name, which I worked on in the space, resonance and spirit of a cadenza.
For the second movement, Dahut, cursed daughter of King Gradlon, I wanted to get closer to the contradictory passions inhabiting this young woman, who will go so far as to betray her father and her people under the influence of obscure forces.
Finally, Morvach. This is the king’s magic horse, the one that will enable him to flee the town before it is buried by the waves, thanks to a giant leap whose arrival, still according to legend, can be traced by “hoof marks” on stones on the shores of Saint-Guénolé. But is it really a legend?
The second movement was created by Ronan Baudry and Romain Hervé for the Dolmen Rhapsody show. The “integral” version was created by Jérôme Laran in 2015.
Although the movements can be played in isolation, I wanted to get closer to the spirit of a 3-movement sonata. These three musical tableaux can also be performed with readings of texts from the legend, or even projections of selected images, such as La fuite du roi Gradlon, by Evariste-Vitak Luminais (Musée des Beaux-Arts de Quimper, 1884).


Additional information

Weight0,350 kg
Dimensions29,7 × 42 × 0,5 cm

PDF, Papier