Le Colosse de Mahdia

CALMEL Olivier
Chœur à Voix Mixtes, Musique Symphonique, Baritone
ISMN 979-0-56025-307-7




Choeur Régional Vittoria d’Île-de-France
à Michel Piquemal et Boris Mychajliszyn – en hommage à Roger Calmel


The work revolves around the values shared by the texts of Le Colosse de Mahdia and Le Nouveau Colosse, namely the themes of immigration, the dream of another world, the land of welcome, peace and freedom, and finally, music as hope during the crossing.
Olivier Calmel’s creation comprises 4 movements. The first three movements are based on a text by Pierre-Henri Loÿs: Le Colosse de Mahdia. The text of the finale is based on Le Nouveau Colosse, a famous sonnet written by the American Emma Lazarus in 1883, engraved on a plaque mounted on the pedestal of the Statue of Liberty, of which it has become a symbol.
“Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refusal of your teeming shore.
Send these, the homeless, tempest-tost to me,
I lift my lamp beside the golden door!”
Emma Lazarus,1883


Enregistrement de la création du 17 mars 2017 à l’église Saint Antoine des quinze-vingt

Interprètes :

Jean Fischer, baryton
Thomas Tacquet, piano
Chœur régional Vittoria d’Île-de-France
Quintette à vent ArteCombo
Les Violons de France


Additional information

Weight1,2 kg
Dimensions42 × 29,7 × 3 cm

PDF, Papier